4 comments on “"Without Being Preachy"

  1. Great article, Carol.I have always wondered — why are we so afraid to speak up and ‘offend’ people in our societies today?Is there a feeling of a lack of acceptance and love that we are not finding in God’s arms that pushes us to seek the acceptance and love of others (man)?If so, then the fault is ours alone, because God is unconditional in His love and His love is all there for the taking.And we are the ones not experiencing that love because we don’t love back! I read this particular post some time back and it has this point that struck me most deeply: We cannot love God if He didn’t love us first.Shalom!

  2. There are many reasons for this Sicarii, who an say from person to person. But in my opinion, I think people that do these things may have a pure motive. I believe they are trying to point that person Christ-ward instead of us-ward. I see this as more of a “look at Jesus’ love”, not love that they’re seeking for themselves necessarily. Most likely they think the Gospel is offensive so they feel the need to improve it so to speak. But the Gospel IS offensive, the Word DOES divide – we just cannot be ‘friends’ with the world because His truths are divisive by design.

  3. I’ve been thinking — the world’s on this “the word ‘divisive’ is a bad word” thing for a while now.Even among Christian movements, there’s the ecumenical movement where it’s bad to warn Roman Catholics of the Roman Church just because. It’s bad to chastise a fellow Christian because it is not ‘loving’, etc.Anyone seen to be discriminating or dividing is seen as some blahblah-phobe. I myself have been called some blahblah-phobe many times.This is indeed food for thought, Carol. Thank you for posting it. I’m going to read and meditate on what Jesus said about being divisive and standing apart.God bless, and Shalom Aleichem!

  4. Hello Carol,If the Word of God is offensive to people then they have a problem with the One from whom the Word comes, God not man.It is imperative that we remember the words of Christ.Matthew 10:34 Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.35 For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law. 36 And a man’s foes shall be they of his own household. 37 He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. 38 And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me. John 15:18 If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before it hated you. 19 If ye were of the world, the world would love his own: but because ye are not of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hateth you. Peace and blessing

Leave a Reply

