9 comments on “Turning the Other Cheek, and Sinning Anyway

  1. Letting it go an actively turning are very different things. Letting it go says “it didn’t matter” but it does. Actively turning says it does matter but because I’m commanded to turn by One who loves more than me I will do it. We are still broken so our pride and self really hurt when we do this, but we obey, and the heart catches up in time.Glad to have you back.

  2. I know full well what you’re talking about so don’t feel so lonely. That said, I second Robert’s thoughts on this, and I’ll just add that obedience by our flesh alone will be difficult but if we are anchored by God’s Spirit then that shall be perfected. We are a work-in-progress, but this work needs to learn obedience before any progress can be made. Hm… okay, I hope I made sense.

  3. I understand what you mean. A person can go through the motions of what appears to be right on the surface; but if his heart is not in the right place, to him it is sin.<>“For whatever is not from faith is sin.” (Romans 14:23 NKJV)<>You see, when he ought to be doing the work for God, he is merely doing it for himself. As a result of this the work that he thinks he is doing for God is merely his own work: not the work of the Spirit. Therefore, it is only when we do what ought to be done to His glory that anything good can come out of us.By the way, you are not evil. If you were evil you wouldn’t be so sensitive about these things. In other words, if you were evil you wouldn’t care.Because you are sensitive to these things however, that means the Spirit is moving upon your heart.And if the Spirit is moving upon your heart in this way, then that means you are close to God.Blessings to you,Chris Esty< HREF="http://www.thebiblepost.com/" REL="nofollow">The Bible Post<>

  4. Thank you for stopping by my blog recently. Just to say that this is a very relevant post in light of what even pastors have to deal with on a regular basis. It is ONLY by the grace of God that we forgive those who have wronged not only us, but more importantly who have wronged the God they say they love.While the philosophy of “forgive and forget” is not a biblical one, certainly to forgive and CHOOSE not to remember is. This begins by turning the other cheek even when we do not feel like doing so and it crushes our sinful pride.We forgive and even if only to God and within ourselves we make a commitment that we will not let this particular sin weigh us down and if the other party comes to seek forgiveness and restitution later, we will do so but without flaunting their sin in their face. We will forgive as we have been forgiven by the Lord Jesus Christ (Eph. 4:32).Every blessing,The Desert Pastor

  5. Yes, Carol, I know what you’re talking about.Recently I faced it, the answer I believe is in resisting such thoughts of bitterness as soon as you sense it. Don’t ever give it root. They are seeds, that the enemy tries to sow. By Gods Spirit I have been victorious in this area. When bitter seeds came…..I’d immediately speak out audibly and bless the person (refusing to agree with satan and working against the forces of darkness). I have seen this really powerful.Its been such a while….why dont I see you online or on FB? Hmmm Sid

  6. Hey Sid,If by FB you mean Facebook, I do have an account and was on for a short while, but then I deactivated it. I think I sent you something there, a pie or something 🙂 Or maybe it was a sheep. haha

  7. Thank you all for your comments. Maybe I’m over-thinking this but if I deceived myself on this issue, then who’s to say I haven’t deceived myself in other areas? I hope I don’t sound like I’m whining about this, I don’t mean to. I’m just putting into words my thought process.I know my heart has deceived me before and the Lord corrected me. But what if say I thought that I was hearing from the Lord but I really wasn’t? Sometimes it’s hard to distinguish between the Holy Spirit speaking and myself. Then if I keep following this to it’s gruesome end…how do I know that I haven’t manufactured something that I thought was from God all along? Like my salvation? I forget the name of that movie but it had to do with Joan of Arc. This is what’s weighing on my mind. What if my experiences were like hers? She claimed she was hearing from God and lead an army into battle but she realized at the end that it was all her doing, it was all in her mind. I know no one can give advice on this because only the Lord knows if I truly have salvation or if I’ve been deceiving myself all along. But thank you all for your comments. I haven’t disregarded any of them, they’re just filed away in my mind and will not forgotten.

  8. Hi Carol,You will recognize the Spirit of God by the Word of God.For, <>“All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.”(2 Timothy 3:16-17 NKJV)<> In other words, you will know that you aren’t deceived when you believe and do what The Bible tells you to do. The Psalmist put it quite well when he had said:<>“Blessed is the man Who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, Nor stands in the path of sinners, Nor sits in the seat of the scornful; But his delight is in the law of the LORD, And in His law he meditates day and night. He shall be like a tree Planted by the rivers of water, That brings forth its fruit in its season, Whose leaf also shall not wither; And whatever he does shall prosper. The ungodly are not so, But are like the chaff which the wind drives away. Therefore the ungodly shall not stand in the judgment, Nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous. For the LORD knows the way of the righteous, But the way of the ungodly shall perish.(Psalms 1:1-6 NKJV)<>Blessings to you,Chris Esty< HREF="http://www.thebiblepost.com/" REL="nofollow">The Bible Post<>

  9. Take heart, you are not the only one who goes through this. The fact that you question your motives should encourage you; it means that you are aware that any good we do apart from God is as filthy rags.The fact that you are aware of this means that the Holy Spirit is alive and well in you, keeping your feet firmly planted on the narrow path.Keep up the good work, both in your Walk and with your blogs.

Leave a Reply

