12 comments on “What Your Wedding Ring Doesn’t Say

  1. Hi Carol. First of all, many greetings. I am glad you are back. Yes…I read about your comp. Oh, this is a good one. My husband does not even wear his ring…because of his nature of job…a ring can be dangerous. But what you have shared is very powerful. Its what we call…assumption. Yet, it is so true that most people if put in a place of compromise will not quickly speak up because they assume that their rings have a voice. I am challenged and hope many like me will speak up when faced with such a situation.

    Blessings and peace,

    Gladwell

  2. Hello Gladwell,

    I can understand your husband’s situation. Safety first. 🙂 But he should put the ring on as soon as he gets home. 🙂

  3. Carol – Very good thoughts about marriage and what wedding rings don’t say. My husband, in 23 years has never worn a ring. At first, before we were married, I struggled with this–why wouldn’t he want an outward symbol of our love? But, because I loved him and respected him (and still do, even more) and trust him, I accepted it. As the years have passed, I have grown to appreciate that he doesn’t wear a ring. I know that sounds odd. But, I know his heart and that I can trust him completely. And, as you say, a ring may mean something to the person wearing it, but it doesn’t speak anything about the person’s heart. Thank you for making me think about this again. It has reminded me of how much I appreciate my husband and our marriage. –Godspeed, Elizabeth

  4. Hello Elizabeth and thank you for stopping by. 🙂
    As long as you two have an agreement about this and are comfortable with this, then that’s great. As for me personally, that’s don’t fly. 🙂 hahahaha

    I trust my husband completely too but I don’t trust other women. Satan can and will use other women to tempt him. My husband is a very handsome man and unfortunately, other women agree. He also drives a truck so he’s on the road a lot and sometimes gets approached by women who are not phased by his ring. I just don’t want to give Satan an opportunity. Or make it easy for him anyway.

    God bless you and your hubby Elizabeth 🙂
    Carol

  5. Hi Carol,
    Started to give a long comment, but I’ll just leave it at the fact that I liked this post and to share that I have a tattoo that says “Markk 10:9” under it. (Did it as a result of the situation a couple years ago that I told you about.) Anyway, like the new blog look too. Blessings, sister!

  6. Shalene,

    That’s one way to make sure you don’t forget! hahaha 🙂
    It beats writing on Post-Its!

    You can give a long comment – I read them all 🙂

    God bless you sister 🙂

  7. Carol,
    It certainly does beat writing it on post-its!!! LOL! I can’t carry post it’s with me everywhere I go….or I could, but I think they MIGHT just lose their effectiveness. 🙂

  8. I realize I’m a little late to the party, but wanted to say HI Carol!! Nice blog!

    My husband doesn’t wear his ring often, it has gotten too small for him. However, I don’t wear my ring as well! Being pregnant, my hands and fingers are swollen. (Yup, baby #7)

    All in all, I don’t have a problem with my husband not wearing a ring, for one, he is a man led by the Holy Spirit and I trust the Spirit that is in him.

    Personally speaking, I believe wedding rings are a symbol that reflects the state of marriage and have become a tradition in which we have come to expect of a wedding ceremony. There are many couples who wear rings and are faithless to their spouses, emotionally, physically and spiritually. There are many couples who have never donned a ring and have been faithful throughout the duration of a marriage.

    My husband is also a very handsome man, he works out and the is the very description of tall, dark and handsome 🙂 But what I’ve found to be true is that women will gravitate towards him IF he wear wears his ring! And ignore him if he doesn’t.

    So I have no problem with him not wearing his ring…no, I’m kidding!

    Ultimately, to quote you, “A ring says you’re married, that’s it” 🙂
    The rings don’t make a marriage… my husband and I do 🙂

    Love and blessings upon you Carol!

    Hannah

    *waves to Shalene* Hello! 🙂

  9. Hi… I liked the statement… what God has joined together, let man not separate. I will pray this should come true for everyone

    • Hello Vipin, Yes that is a good statement but I didn’t say it. It’s in Mark 10:9 “Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate.”

Leave a Reply

